Header image  
First Lady of Philanthropy  




Return to: Photo Gallery Index

in the news

NAACP Freedom Fund Awards Banquet

The NAACP Houston Branch hosted its 2008 Freedom Fund Awards Banquet at the Hilton Americas Hotel. Breaking the Silence, The Power of the Voice and the Vote was this year's theme. This exciting evening was shared with over 1,000 folks in attendance. Those beaming with pride included Executive Director, Yolanda Smith, Board President Carol Mims Galloway, and Honorary Chairs, Daniel and Lori Walterman. Pastor Kirbyjon Caldwell delivered the keynote address and was also the recipient of the Mickey Leland Humanitarian Award ... read more below this photo

John Tsacrios, Carolyn Farb, and Duni Hebron

The Presidential Award recipients included Guy Rankin, CEO and Executive Director of the Harris County Housing Authority, Dr. Carolyn Farb, Philanthropist, Dr. Deavra Daughtry, CEO of Excellent Care Management, Inc. and founder of the Texas Woman Empowerment Foundation and Minister Robert Muhammad, The Nation of Islam Mosque No. 45. Annette Cluff, Superintendent of The Varnett Schools received the Special Recognition Award. Ms. Chag's refers to them as Mr. NAACP and this banquet would not be complete without Congressman Al Green and Howard Jefferson who also participated in the program. Others in the mix were Zona Jefferson, Darryl Carter, Carolyn Scantlebury, John Tsacrious, Duni Hebron, Steven James, Ebone Stowers, Michael and Erika McClure, Locquin Bryant, Chasta Martin, Rose Taylor, Win Dunn, Cathy Lang, Joyce Eugene, Sharon Goosby, Shedrick Chandler and Rev. Reginald Lillie, to name a few. We salute the NAACP Houston Branch!

November 2 - 8, 2008 -- www.defendernetwork.com

© Carolyn Farb. All rights reserved